Minster FM News

Contact the News Team:
Tel: 01904 486598

York's council cabinet announced

York city council

12:26pm 26th May 2011
(Updated 12:27pm 26th May 2011)

City of York Council’s Executive, Shadow Executive and the civic party were formally appointed today (26th May) at the Annual Council meeting.

Eight councillors now make up the council's new Cabinet:

  • Cllr James Alexander: Council Leader with portfolio including Policy, Strategy & Partnerships and Economic Development & Regeneration
  • Cllr Tracey Simpson-Laing: Deputy Leader and portfolio for Health, Housing and Adult Social Services
  • Cllr Dave Merrett: City Strategy
  • Cllr Sonja Crisp: Leisure, Culture and Social Inclusion
  • Cllr Ruth Potter: Education, Children and Young People
  • Cllr Sandy Fraser: New portfolio of Community Safety
  • Cllr Julie Gunnell: Corporate Services
  • Cllr Janet Looker: Communities and Neighbourhoods

The Conservatives have elected Cllr Ian Gillies to lead the Conservative Group in opposition with the following members shadowing the Cabinet:  

  • Cllr Joe Watt: City strategy
  • Cllr Jenny Brooks: Children and Young People's Services
  • Cllr Sian Wiseman: Health and Social Services
  • Cllr John Galvin: Neighbourhood services
  • Cllr Paul Healey: Community safety

Councillor Carol Runciman is the leader of the Liberal Democrats, with Cllr Ann Reid as her deputy.

Councillor Andy D’Agorne is the leader of the Green Party.

Councillor David Horton is now the Right Honourable Lord Mayor of York and his wife, Jane Horton, is the new Lady Mayoress.

The Lord Mayor and Sheriff’s chosen annual charities are York Against Cancer and York and District Mind.

The deputy Lord Mayor is Councillor John Galvin.

The new Sheriff of York is Alan Deller with his wife, Ann, is the Sheriff's Lady.

Get Local News Alerts on Your Phone