Dua Lipa: Be the OneiTunesAmazon

Minster FM News

Contact the News Team:
Tel: 01904 486598

Teenage Scientists Honoured at University of York Ceremony

Uni of York 300414

6:21pm 9th July 2014

Budding scientists from across Yorkshire and the Humber have received Ogden Schools Physicist of the Year Awards at the University of York.

Schools and sixth form colleges across the region were asked to nominate their most promising AS Level or Year 11 students for the award, which recognises ability as well as hard work, effort and dedication to the study of Physics.

The 28 students each received a certificate of achievement, a £25 book token and a suggested list of science books to stimulate their curiosity even further.

Organiser Katherine Leech, Ogden Trust Outreach Officer from York’s Department of Physics, said: “We wanted to congratulate and honour those students who are excelling at Physics in Year 11 and 12. These young people could be pushing the boundaries of science and making amazing discoveries in the next generation.”

The awards were presented at a special ceremony at the University’s Exhibition Centre by Professor Sarah Thompson, Head of York’s Department of Physics.

The event was attended by Tim Simmons, Chief Executive of the Ogden Trust and included an entertaining and informative talk by Dr Roddy Vann from York’s Department of Physics about fusion, the energy crisis, and plasma physics.  

Get Local News Alerts on Your Phone